

SONS OF UNION VETERANS OF THE CIVIL WAR DEPARTMENT OF MICHIGAN

OFFICE OF DEPARTMENT COMMANDER

NATHAN L. SMITH, DC, PCC

+ HEADQUARTERS +

2620 S. DECKER RD MARLETTE, MICHIGAN 48453



DATE: 16 May 2022

DEPARTMENT ORDER NO.: 01

SERIES: 2022-2023

RE: 2022-2023 TERM OF OFFICE / STAFF AND COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

By the authority vested in me as Commander, Department of Michigan, Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War, it is hereby ordered as follows:

- 1. Having been duly elected and installed as Department Commander for a second term on 14 May 2022, I hereby continue my command of the Department of Michigan, Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War.
- 2. Headquarters for the Department is hereby transferred to: 2620 S. Decker Road Marlette, Michigan 48453.
- 3. General correspondence to the Department should be sent to Department Secretary Richard Denney, 30090 Orla Engle Road. Colon, MI 49040, or e-mailed to: secretary@suvcwmi.org
- 4. Correspondence to the Commander should be sent to Nathan L. Smith, 2620 S. Decker Rd Marlette, Michigan 48453, or e-mailed to: commander@suvcwmi.org
- 5. I want to extend my appreciation to all newly elected and appointed Officers and Brothers serving on the various committees of the Department.
- 6. I would also like to extend my appreciation to this past year's Officers and committee members for their service to the Order.
- 7. The Department would like to extend appreciation to CinC Michael Paquette for joining us at our Encampment and for installing our Department Officers for the 2022-2023 term.
- 8. The Department extends the highest appreciation for the Brothers in attendance at the 138th Department Encampment.
- 9. Memorial Day will be observed on Monday, 30 May 2022. All Camps and Brothers are highly encouraged to attend or participate in services or other acts of remembrance in Keeping Green the Memory of our Union ancestors, and all American Veterans no longer among the living.
- 10. Camps are reminded to please send information on Camp events to the Department Signals Officer for posting on the Department's Website.
- 11. I hereby make the following Staff, Committee, and Special Committee Appointments:

Chief of Staff	David Smith, PDC	BY-LAWS COMMITTEE	
Counselor	Paul T. Davis, PDC	SVDC; Chair	Gary Swain, PCC
Chaplain	Rev. Charles Buckhahn, PCC	Department Secretary; Member	Dick Denney, PCC
Patriotic Instructor	Terry McKinch, PDC	Counselor; Member	Paul T. Davis, PDC
Color Bearer	Edgar J. Dowd, PCC	Member	James B. Pahl, PCinC
Signals Officer	Robert R. Payne, PDC	LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE	

Editor, "Michigar Messenger"	Richard E. Danes, PCC	DC; Chair	Nathan L. Smith, PCC
Historian		Department Secretary; Member	
Guide	Ronald Shull, PCC	Member	
Guard	Lloyd Lamphere, Sr., PCC	Member	Gary Naugle, PCC
Graves Registration Office	Richard E. Danes, PCC	Member	James B. Pahl, PCinC
G.A.R. Records Office	Cary Cabeon PDC	MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE	
Civil War Memorials Officer	John H. McGill, CC	JVDC; Chair	Steve Martin, PCC
Eagle Scout Coordinator		Member(s)	All Camp JVC's
Camp-At-Large Coordinator		GRAVES REGISTRATION COMMITTEE	
Camp Organize	James B. Pahl, PCinC	GRO Officer; Chair	I Richard E. Danes PU
Aide-de-Camp	•	Member(s)	*
Military Affairs Officer/ROTO Awards	Edgar J. Dowd, PCC	CIVIL WAR MEMORIALS COMMITTEE	
Ceremonies & Rituals Officer	Keith G. Harrison, P.Cin.C.	CW Memorials Officer; Chair	I John H Mc(till ('C'
		Member(s)	•
CEREMONIES & RITUALS COMMITTEE		CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE	
CR Officer; Chair	Keith G. Harrison, PCinC		L. Dean Lamphere, Jr., PDC*
Member	James B. Pahl, PCinC	Member	Robert R. Payne, PDC
Member	Paul T. Davis, PDC	Member	Charles Worley, PDC
G.A.R. RECORDS COMMITTEE		NOMINATING COMMITTEE	
GAR Records Officer; Chair	Gary L. Gibson, PDC	Chair	Richard E. Danes, PCC
Historian; Member	Keith G. Harrison, PCinC	Member	Donald Shaw, PCinC
Member	Tom Bruce	Member	Dale L. Aurand, PDC
Member	J. Douglas Park, PDC	Member	Charles Worley, PDC
Member	Blaine Valentine, PCC	Member	Gary Naugle, PCC
COMMUNICATION & TECHNOLOGY		139 th ANNUAL ENCAMPMENT SITE SELECTION COMMITTEE	
Signals Officer; Chair	Robert R. Payne, PDC	Chair	David Smith, PDC
Member	David Wallace, PDC	Member	Gary Swain, PCC
Member	Dennis Fyke	Member	L Dean Lamphere, Jr. PDC
Member	Patrick D. Wallace	Member	Steve Martin, PCC
Member	Keith G. Harrison, PCinC		
102 nd USTC MEMORIAL SPECIAL COMMITTEE		EAGLE SCOUT QUESTION REFERRAL SPECIAL COMMITTEE	

Chair	John H. McGill, CC	Chair	Lloyd Lamphere Sr.
Friend of the Committee; Member	Geoff Blair	Member	James B. Pahl, PCinC
Member	Keith G. Harrison, PCinC	Member	Roy Richard
Member	Robert May, PCC	MILITARY & VETERANS AFFAIRS SPECIAL COMMITTEE	
Member	David F. Wallace, PDC	Chair	Edgar J. Dowd, PCC
KALAMAZOO LINCOLN PROJECT SPECIAL COMMITTEE		Member	Lloyd D. Lamphere, Sr., CC*
Chair	Charles Worley, PDC	Member	Calvin Murphy
Member	Gary Swain, PCC	Member	Paul A. Nelson, PCC
Member	Cameron Brown	Member	Max Riekse, PCC
ABRAHAM LINCOLN & DR. MARY E. WALKER AWARD COMMITTEE		Member	Richard Schafer
Chair	Rev. Charles Buckhahn, PCC	J. RICHARD GREENE AWARD (Per Dept. Bylaws)	
Member	Edward Dowd, PCC	Chair	Richard Danes, PCC
Member	Paul Nelson, PCC	Member	Rev. Charles Buckhahn, PCC
SPECIAL OUTREACH COMMITTEE		Member	Richard Denney, PCC
Chair/SVDC	Gary Swain, PCC		
Member/JVDC	Steve Martin, PCC		
Other Members	As Appointed by Chair		

In Fraternity, Charity, and Loyalty,

/s/

ATTEST:

Nathan L. Smith, PCC

Commander, Department of Michigan Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War Richard Denney, PCC Secretary, Department of Michigan Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War